2012 OESP Award Winners

Instructor of the Year

Rick Taylor

Rick is an Associate Professor of HVAC at Pennsylvania College of Technology, Williamsport, PA. He teaches oil heat, steam as well as solar thermal, hydronics and environmental impacts of the HVAC industry and he is co-department head of the HVAC department.

Rick is the secretary of the Susquehanna Valley Chapter. Members validate the fact that Rick continually strives to bring the latest technologies to his students. With his commitment to education excellence, he has helped produce 11 Dave Nelsen scholarship winners.

Lou Ehrich Award

Phillip Schwartz

Phil followed his father’s footsteps (Nat) in the wholesale business. He serves as the treasurer of the Long Island Oilheating & Cooling Chapter and a strong supporter of Oil Heat Cares, including riding in the annual Care to Ride event. Phil is known for his support of his customers by “never” closing the doors during the heating season. He is a strong supporter of education, offering product training regularly at his business in North Bellmore, NY.

Service Manager of the Year

Matt Spink

Matt is co-chair of the Education Committee for National and the president of his chapter, the Long Island Oilheating and Cooling Professionals.

He is the Service Manager for Platinum Energy. He teaches the Introduction of Oilheat at the local community college and he has developed and taught a class on commercial oil burners as well.

Matt is one of those guys that can be counted upon for anything. He is also one of those guys that you hear before you see him – but always with a smile on his face.

Hugh McKee Award

Jay Moser

Jay is the service manager for Harris Comfort, Bristol, PA. He is the president of his chapter, the Bucks-Mont Chapter and is co-chair of the Convention Committee. He is also very active with the Hulmeville Fire Company and during the winter you can find him at Flyers games.

Jay received his training from the PPMCSA School and today supervises 15 technicians. Harris is a full service HVAC company that sells both oil and propane. Jay is both NATE and NORA certified.

Manufacturer of the Year


Tekmar, a Canadian controls manufacturer, is another fine example of what the Awards Committee looks for with regards to a nominee – their commitment to sharing the knowledge. Tekmar notes that they have had over 10,000 customers attend tekmar Control Schools.

Lifetime Achievement Award

John Levey

John is one of those guys who lives and breathes oil heat. He owned his own company, a key manager for one of the largest companies and now owns his own consulting company. Knowing that oil tanks often are the route of oil related problems, he identified a need for a program so that our industry could take a proactive approach to Tank management. He worked with NORA to develop the Tank Certification Program and has delivered many classes on this topic.

Of all the things that John does, teaching and motivating others to stretch their talents is probably one of his strongest attributes.

Still have more questions?

Contact OESP Association Headquarters at 888-552-0900 or email info@thinkoesp.org

  • Sid Harvey's
  • Slant Fin
  • Carlin
  • Wohler
  • 2017JoinNowBanner 800x140
  • OESPNewsBanner V0
  • Olsen Banner Ad Option 1