2011 OESP Award Winners

At its annual Awards Banquet held during the Association’s annual convention & trade show, May 22-26th, Hershey Lodge & Convention Center, the Award Winners were announced.

Instructor of the Year

Ralph Adams

Ralph is the Executive Vice President of OESP and is the service manager for Parker Fuel Co., Ellicott City, MD. Ralph is a co-chairman of our national Education Committee and is instrumental in the development of our Train-the-Trainer program. He was an instructor for Baltimore County Community College, Catonsville, MD where he prepared students to take the NORA (National Oil Heat Research Alliance) Silver Certification program. Ralph was the recipient of the 2006 Service Manager of the Year award and served as the President and Treasurer of his chapter, the Mid Atlantic Service Managers Association.

Lou Ehrich Award

Robert Perotto

Robert is a member of the New York City Chapter. He has been active in the oil heat industry for 49 years. Bob is a NYS licensed professional engineer and volunteers to do training classes, tutoring and mentoring to hundreds of technicians, service manager and owners so they can pass the NYC oil equipment installer’s license exam. He is a longtime member of the chapter and chairman of their nominating committee. He has volunteered his time on several Oil Heat Cares projects and assists the chapter with education and high school student activities.

Service Manager of the Year

Joe Boyle

Joe owns his company, Boyles Heating and Cooling, Quakertown, PA. He has been active in the Lehigh Valley Chapter for 30 years and always interested in education for himself and his employees. Joe got his taste of petroleum when in the Air Force but upon leaving the military he enrolled in barber school. The mid 70’s brought change that resulted in people not needing a barber and Joe figured people will always need heat. He wanted to learn about oil burners so enrolled in the Upper Bucks Tech School. While working at Agway, he met Bill Nice, a long-time member of NAOHSM and that was Joe’s entry into the association. He served as a chapter president for many years. Membership in the Lehigh Valley Chapter has grown and is a testament to Joe’s desire to have regular informative and educational meetings.

Hugh McKee Award

George McQueeney

George is the National President and member of the New Haven Chapter where he serves as the chapter treasurer. He has been active in his chapter since 1978. He is the service manager for East River Energy, Guilford, CT. George has spearheaded a couple of Oil Heat Cares projects and is a board member of OHC. He also sits on the school’s advisory board of Independent CT Petroleum Association as well as the advisory board of Vinyl Tech. He is also an active member of the Killingworth Lion’s Club where was awarded the CT Knight of the Blink, Lion of the Year (twice) and president for two years. George got his start in the family business while in grammar school, helping on an oil truck during snow days and winter breaks from school. At age 15, George was servicing oil burners.

Manufacturer of the Year


Honeywell is a Corporate Member of NAOHSM and a strong supporter of education. For a number of years, they have supported our scholarship program by co-sponsoring an award and a major supporter of our Care to Ride that directly funds Oil Heat Cares. Honeywell always supports our tech schools by providing products.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Michael Szentesy

This special award was presented to Mike Szentesy. Mike was a long-time employee of Suntec and involved in the Oilheating industry for over 39 years. Mike is a member of 10 NAOHSM chapters and doesn’t just pay his dues; he attends many meetings and is always available for training. He has a keen understanding what his customers need and works hard to deliver. He has served as the chairman of the burner section of AHRI, treasurer of NAOHSM, president of OMA, vice-chairman of the GAMA and chairman of the burner division of the Hydronics Institute. He is well known, competent and a good friend to many. Mike is moving on to the next chapter of his career by joining Mitco Manufacturing a division of Sid Harvey Industries.

Still have more questions?

Contact OESP Association Headquarters at 888-552-0900 or email info@thinkoesp.org

  • Sid Harvey's
  • Slant Fin
  • Carlin
  • Wohler
  • 2017JoinNowBanner 800x140
  • OESPNewsBanner V0
  • Olsen Banner Ad Option 1